Skip to content ↓
School Gateway

Aquinas Advisory Council

St NIcholas CE Primary School’s Advisory Council

The school is an academy within the Aquinas Church of England Education Trust (Aquinas). The responsibility for the oversight and management of all aspects of the Aquinas rests with the Board of Trustees. The day to day management of Aquinas has been delegated by the Trustees to the Chief Executive Officer, Kathy Griffiths. The day to day operation of St Nicholas CE Primary School has been delegated to the Head Teacher Sophie Sear.

In order to assist Mrs Sear, the Trustees of Aquinas have established Aquinas Advisory Councils (AAC) for each academy including St Nicholas CE Primary School. The members of St Nicholas CE Primary School AAC are as follows:

Trust appointed Members:  Rev Dr Jonathan Bauer; Father Paul Farthing; Mr Alex Farrugia; Mr James Griffitths; Mrs Katrina Pauling (chair); Mrs Anne Scobie;  

Parent Members:  Mrs Sarah Collinson; Mr David Sharpe 

Staff Members: Mrs Lynsey Barnes; Mrs Sophie Sear (Head teacher)

Observers: Mr Dustin Carere (Deputy Head teacher)

The purpose of the AAC is to support, advise and be a critical friend to the Headteacher in raising standards of achievement and progress for all learners.

The AAC does have delegated responsibility in relation to aspects of admissions, appointment of staff, complaints, performance management, permanent exclusions, school inspections, staff grievance and disciplinary. The AAC also has the ability to escalate concerns to the Headteacher, CEO or Trustees.

The AAC members meet at least 3 times a year and certain members will have specific functions as agreed by the AAC and the Head of School. Members will also forge links with the school and wide community. Notes of the AAC meetings are available on request.

AAC Members’ code of conduct and declaration of business interests support the following principles: selflessness, integrity, objectivity, accountability, openness, honesty and leadership.

If you wish to contact the Chair of the AAC (Katrina Pauling) or any of its members, please email: and insert in the subject box ‘for the attention of the clerk to the Aquinas Advisory Council'.